The 5 Love Languages

Hi everyone! Today I want to tell you about the 5 love languages. Recently I have been hearing a lot about the 5 love languages. I took the test and I am going to share my results with you along with a little on each category.

The five love languages are; physical touch, quality time, words of affirmation, receiving gifts, and acts of service. The test is free for anyone to take online. After taking the test you will see the different love languages rated in order from your highest to lowest score. The highest score you can get on each category is 12. After getting your results you can read the book, The 5 Love Languages by Dr. Chapman. Dr. Chapman’s book goes into more detail on what each category entails.

The first love language I am going to talk about is physical touch. People whose primary love language is physical touch are not very touchy. However, hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face go a long way. For those who score highest in this category physical presence and accessibility is crucial. I got a score of 8 in this category, making it my primary love language.

The second love language is quality time. Those who have this as their primary love language thrive in a relationship where there is full, undivided attention given. For those who strive on quality time things such as distractions, postponed dates, and failure to listen can really be hurtful. I got a 7 in the quality time section. For me, I love when I can just spend time with whoever I am dating. This could be doing something as simple as watching a movie at home.

The third love language I am going to touch on is word of affirmation.  Those who score high in this area really value words. Compliments mean the world to them. Hearing the words, “I love you” are important but hearing the reasons why will really raise their spirts. I received a 7 in words of affirmation, making it my second love language too.

The fourth love language is receiving gifts. Those who score the highest in this area do not care about how much is spent; they care about the thought behind the gift. I scored a 6 for this love language. An example of this was when my ex-fiancé brought me sunflowers he found in a field on his way back to Arizona. He knew that sunflowers are my favorite so he grabbed some. He did not spend a cent, but the fact he saw them and thought of me meant the world to me.

The fifth and last love language is acts of service. Something like vacuuming the floor can mean the world to those who have this as their primary love language. Anything to ease the burden goes a long way!

This is just a little about the five love languages. To learn more about your primary love language by reading Dr. Chapman’s book. I will leave a link to the quiz and book below! Have you taken the quiz? Let me know your love language in the comments below!




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s